Board Executive Committee

Mr Damien Moore FIPA FFA


Occupation: Senior Taxation Consultant
Division: South Australia 

Damien is the current Chair of the Board and was appointed to this position in November 2016. He’s also held the roles of Vice President and Deputy President on a National Level and SA/NT Divisional President at a State Level. He is a Graduate member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors having successfully completed the Company Directors Course and has worked extensively with Small Business Enterprises his entire career. His roles have included working in the Finance & Accounting sectors for over 20 years and was Managing Director of his own Accounting Practice specialising in Taxation and Advisory to SME’s. Originally joining the IPA as a student member, he completed the Master of Commerce (Professional Accounting) which was part of the IPA Education program.

Mr Tony McCartin FIPA FFA


Occupation: Principal/Director – McCartin & Associates, Taxation Consultants and Business Services in Parramatta
Division: New South Wales 

IPA member since 1984, NSW Divisional Councillor circa 2006, joined the Board in 2009. In Public Practice, as registered Tax Agent and Public Accountant, since 1984, antecedent, the Australian Taxation Office in Sydney, and Parramatta, 1972 - 1984, taught part time at TAFE NSW 1995 - 2006. Local agent / public officer of several diverse registered foreign companies, local director / public officer of a broad range of subsidiaries of foreign corporations registered in Australia.

Member, Board Membership Committee 2011 -2012, member, then Chair, Board Audit Committee 2012 - 2016, Treasurer - 2016, joined Board Executive Committee 2017 as one of two Dep Pres. Fellow of The Tax Institute & CTA, fellow of Governance Institute of Australia, member of AICD, JP for NSW.

Mrs Linda Bernard FIPA FFA


Occupation: Director / Senior Accountant, Grange Professional Services
Division: Western Australia

Joined WA Divisional Council in 2007, became the President from 2009 until 2012. Elected to the board of directors in 2013. Public Practitioner since 2000, registered tax agent, registered SMSF Auditor, holds Bachelor of Commerce in Accounting and Financial Planning from Curtin University and a Masters of Commerce in Professional Accounting from UNE. Linda is also a graduate member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Ms Wendy Leegel FIPA FFA


Occupation: Director Change Management and Culture Australian Digital Health Agency, Director Leegel Consulting Group, Management Consultant
Division: Victoria

Management Consultant of 25 years at ASX Top 5-20, specialising in commerce and global markets, enterprise risk & governance, P&C, and business strategy - M&A’s, ICT and TOM design. Qualifications held in accounting and finance, governance and risk, org. change & leadership. Director Change Management & Culture Australian Digital Health Agency, Director Leegel Consulting Group, Director IPA & Ambassador BreastScreen Victoria. Masters in Leadership, MLead UNE.

IPA member 20 years, Vic. Councillor 1999-2000, 2006, instigated Bentleigh discussion group & past Bentleigh convenor. IPA Immediate Past President & Chair IPA/IFA, current Member of the Board Executive Committee (BEC), Deputy Chair of the Disciplinary Committee, Senate Committee representative - Minister Finance Rep. Insolvency Practitioners Disciplinary Committee for 3 year term. Retired NED Board Director of Risk Management Institute of Australia (RMIA). Nominals: Fellow of IPA (FIPA), IFA (FIFA) , FINSIA (F Fin), Governance Institute of Australia (FGIA) GIA (cert.), IML (FIML), and Chartered Management Institute (CMgr FCMI), Graduate of AICD : Australian Institute of Company Directors (GAICD), Member of Change Management (MACMP), AIPM (MAIPM), RMIA (MRMIA), CMI (CMI), Hon JP

Prof. Andrew Conway FIPA FFA

  • Appointed as Chief Executive Officer of the Institute of Public Accountants (IPA) in May 2009, leading the reformation and repositioning of the organisation
  • Co-author of the Australian Small Business White Paper and Chair of the IPA Deakin University SME Research Partnership
  • Awarded the Centenary of Federation Medal through the Order of Australia in 2001
  • Awarded Australian Young Professional of the Year in 2011
  • Appointed as a Director of Eastern Health by the Governor of Victoria in 2011
  • Led the IPA to be recognised as the most innovative accounting body in Australia in 2012 by BRW
  • Awarded the Australian Financial Review, Boss Magazine Young Executive of the Year in 2014
  • Awarded the Deakin University Young Alumni Award in 2015
  • Andrew was presented with a Distinguished Fellow award by the Vice-Chancellor of Deakin University in 2016

Andrew’s professional appointments include:

  • Deakin University – Adjunct Professor
  • Shanghai University of Finance & Economics - Professor of Accounting (honoris causa)
  • Lanzhou University – Adjunct Professor

Andrew is recognised as a leading small business policy expert in Australia which has included the co-authorship of the landmark Australian Small Business White Paper and is a regular media commentator for major media outlets.